And then there were (Super) 8, and soon there will be four!

The battle for a spot in the semi-finals is heating up in this T20 World Cup, with all four spots still up for grabs. Following an exciting game against Afghanistan, India is now set to face Bangladesh at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium on Saturday (22nd June).

India dominated the Group Stage with three consecutive wins and continued their strong performance in their first Super 8 match. Batting first, India lost their captain, Rohit Sharma, early to Fazalhaq Farooqi. Rishabh Pant came in and played aggressively, quickly reaching 20 runs before being dismissed by Rashid Khan. Virat Kohli also looked good but was sent back by Captain Khan. 

Suryakumar Yadav had other plans, though. After scoring a fifty against the USA, he played with intent again, scoring another fifty to bring India back on track. He was well supported by Hardik Pandya and Axar Patel, helping India post a fighting total of 181.

In reply, Bumrah finished with three wickets for just seven runs, while Arshdeep also took three scalps. Kuldeep Yadav was excellent on his return, picking up two wickets as India secured a comfortable 47-run victory. 

Bangladesh, on the other hand, began their Super 8 campaign with a defeat against Australia. Although rain was the deciding factor in the game, the Aussies were well ahead of the DLS par score, eventually winning by 28 runs.

Pacers galore!

Looking ahead to the game between India and Bangladesh, pace bowlers have been the key performers for both teams. India, led by Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh, have been outstanding. Arshdeep Singh has taken 10 wickets so far, while Jasprit Bumrah has taken eight at an exceptional economy rate of 3.46. 

Arshdeep has been brilliant in the powerplay and Bumrah has been terrific throughout. Hardik Pandya has also been effective, picking up seven wickets in the tournament so far.

For Bangladesh, Tanzim Hasan Sakib has led the way among the pacers with nine wickets in five games, including remarkable figures of 4 for 7 against Nepal. Mustafizur Rahman has also been noteworthy, taking seven wickets in five games at an economy rate of 4.27. 

Taskin Ahmed is another key bowler, having taken seven wickets in the tournament. Bangladesh would want their pace battery to fire in this crucial game. Among the spinners, Rishad Hossain has been a constant threat so far. With nine wickets under his belt, the Indian batters will have to keep an eye out on his variations. 

India look to maintain head-to-head domination

In 13 head-to-head encounters in T20Is against Bangladesh, India have emerged triumphant on 12 occasions. In the T20 World Cup, India have won all four games against Bangladesh, but the matches have often been dramatic. In the 2016 edition, Bangladesh needed two runs to win off the final three balls but lost three wickets in as many subsequent deliveries to finish just a run short. 

The final of the Nidahas Trophy 2018 was another thriller, with India needing 34 runs from 12 balls. Dinesh Karthik hit 29 runs from eight balls, including a last-ball six to win the trophy for India. 

In the T20 World Cup 2022, India almost lost to Bangladesh. After scoring 184 in their 20 overs, Bangladesh was cruising to the target before rain reduced the target to 151 in 16 overs. India made a splendid comeback and with seven runs needed to win, Arshdeep Singh kept his cool to help India secure the victory.

The upcoming match between India and Bangladesh is anticipated to be another exciting contest. Bangladesh, though struggling in their last game, have bowlers capable of turning the match in their favour. Tanzim Hasan Sakib's impressive wicket-taking ability, Mustafizur Rahman's consistency and Taskin Ahmed's skills make them a formidable bowling unit. 

The history between India and Bangladesh in T20Is adds an extra layer of excitement to the upcoming match. Despite India's dominance, Bangladesh have often pushed them to the brink, making for thrilling encounters and the match at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium is expected to be no different.