An enthralling edition of the TATA IPL came to an end a week ago, and the focus now shifts to international cricket. Gearing up for action, the Indian men’s team will be facing Australia for the coveted ICC World Test Championship mace at the Oval, beginning on June 7. 

Whenever India and Australia lock horns in the traditional whites, there’s never a dearth in drama or intensity. Earlier this year, India emerged victorious in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and booked their berth in the WTC final for the second edition running, with the hope of going one step further this time.

Three of our Titans are all geared up to make their presence felt in London. Shubman Gill, Mohammad Shami and KS Bharat, who featured in the recently concluded four-match series against Australia, have been named in the 15-man squad.

Shubman Gill, the leading run-scorer in international cricket across all formats in 2023, will be one of the players to watch out for. The in-form opener has scored 980 international runs so far this year, which includes a century in all three formats. He also won the Orange Cap and the Most Valuable Player Award for his incredible outing in the TATA IPL 2023. 

Not to forget, the last time Shubman faced the Aussies, he brought up his second Test century (128 off 225 balls).

Talking of outstanding performances in the TATA IPL this edition, Mohammad Shami returned with a career-best haul of 28 wickets, thus winning the Purple Cap. Shami picked up nine wickets in three matches in BGT 2023 and overall, has scalped 40 wickets in 11 matches against Australia. 

KS Bharat made his debut for the senior men’s team against Australia and went on to feature in all four Tests. He chipped in with some vital cameos and was a dependable presence behind the wickets. He also brings in many years of domestic experience to the table. 

India squad for WTC final 2023

Rohit Sharma (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, KS Bharat, Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadakt, Umesh Yadav.

Reserves: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav

Match Details

Australia vs India
ICC World Test Championship Final 2023
The Oval, London

(Feature Image Credit: BCCI)